Liebster Award

liebsteraward

I can’t believe I’m getting this award, considering that my blog is pretty new. A big big thanks to Sripurna and shriyabeesam for nominating me… I feel absolutely wonderful! 😀 Check out their blogs, people, they’re totally awesome!

The Rules:

Once you’ve been nominated, make a post thanking the person who nominated you and linking to their blog.

Include the Liebster Award sticker.

Nominate 10 blogs that you feel deserve this award, and let them know you’ve nominated them by commenting on one of their posts. You can also nominate the person who nominated you if you want.

Ensure that all of these blogs have less than 200 followers.

Answer the 10 questions set by the blogger, and ask 10 questions for your nominees to answer.

Copy these rules into your post.

ALL NOMINEES ARE FREE TO REJECT OR ACCEPT THIS AWARD.

Sripurna’s Questions:

1. Five words to describe yourself.

Inquisitive, sensible, perfectionist, cheerful, random.

2. What is your best childhood memory?

Um, I don’t remember how old I was then, but there was this family function that we had to attend and the address given was really confusing. We were supposed to take a turn somewhere near a hardware shop, but we just weren’t being able to find the shop. Nobody was telling me anything, (adults…) but when I finally got them to tell me the name of the shop, I was the one who pointed it out. Then they were so proud of me. “You’re such an observant child”, said my mom. Good thing was, everyone was so happy that they allowed me to have three whole bars of chocolate at the function. 😀

i love chocolate photo: CHOCOLATE!!! CHOCOLATE.jpg

3. What’s your biggest regret?

I’d rather not answer this… there are wounds that still need time to heal..

4. What’s your favourite song?

My favourite song is something that keeps changing from time to time. Right now it’s probably Let Her Go by Passenger ❤

tumblr_mncwrxWyFL1snlqoho1_1280

5. Favourite thing about yourself?

I can bear even the most hurtful pain (pain in every sense of the word) with a smile on my face. 🙂 Nobody would ever get to know about what I’d be going through.

6. Favourite authors?

Charles Dickens, Jane Austen, George Orwell, Agatha Christie, Stephen King, Rick Riordan, Cassandra Clare…. the list goes on.

7. Who’s your favourite person in this world?

My dad. I don’t think I need to elaborate on that, do I?

8. Who is your favourite book character and why?

*shell-shocked by the question*

U expect me to list ONLY ONE favourite book character? Really? Really?

Sorry, I can’t do that.

There’s Jace from The Mortal Instruments; Percy and Leo from PJO and HoO; Four from Divergent; Augustus Waters from TFIOS; Hermione, Sirius, Lupin, Professor McGonagall and Mr. and Mrs. Weasley from Harry Potter; Peeta and Katniss from The Hunger Games…

U don’t know how much of an effort I’m making to stop the list there.

9. Mention three random facts about yourself.

I love playing around with words. My best friends know exactly how good I am at it.. *wink*

I have a lot of trouble remembering faces. I’d probably recognize you by your voice than your face. I know, it’s weird.

I really love singing. Even though I don’t learn it anymore (studies pressure), I try to keep in touch with music. I don’t think I could live without it. One day I’ll definitely start taking classes again…

10. Describe your favourite time of the year.

Springtime! 😀

(Even though we don’t get to experience the season that distinctly in my country… 😦 )

Shriyabeesam’s Questions:

1.) What is your favourite classical novel?

Oliver Twist by Charles Dickens and The Picture of Dorian Grey by Oscar Wilde.

     IMG_20150426_214118       IMG_20150426_173417

2.) If you had to pick a fictional boyfriend/girlfriend, who would you pick and why?

Jace from The Mortal Instruments!! Becaauuse… he’s perfect! Like, he’s sarcastic as hell, a deadly warrior, always has the perfect words to say for any occasion and moves with the grace of an angel! How could u not love him? ❤

e6719638c4c41fa28e34c75ba1746088

*sigh* How does he even manage to speak like that?

3.) Did a book ever make you cry? If so, what book was it?

Honestly, I can’t cry. I mean, even if I really, really want to cry, I can’t. The tears just don’t come. But there are only two books that have ever managed to make me cry…

IMG_20150423_170003

Anne’s life in this book is very similar to what my life has been till now. I’m not talking about being adopted from the orphanage part, I’m talking about how she and her life turned out after she was adopted. (The next books in the series, however, have nothing similar to my life.)

And there’s another book as well, but that’s a Bengali one. Every time I’ve read that book, it’s always left me feeling broken and miserable, crying my heart out. Here’s the cover:

shiuli_cover-400x400

Shiuli by Sanjib Chattopadhyay. It’s only 168 pages long, but it’s the simplest and the most beautiful, heart-wrenching book that I’ve ever read.

4.) Who’s your favourite singer? What are some of your favourite songs from him/her?

Taylor Swift, Owl City, Avril Lavigne. Sorry, I can’t choose one 😛

Taylor Swift – Almost all of her songs are my favourites but currently I’ve been listening a lot to Never Grow Up. It’s a really beautiful song.

969bdea5530ddf32f1a79b40a0fecfc3

Owl City – Like Taylor, most Owl City songs are my favourites. But if I had to choose, I’d probably go for How I Became the Sea or Fireflies or Vanilla Twilight (again, I’m very bad at choosing one)

Avril – Right now my favourite song of hers is Let Me Go

o0fozkl5bzmjz38e_v1_

5.) What movie are you excited to watch or loved watching this year?

I’m not really a movie-person, to be honest. But there’s this movie I saw – ‘In Time’ – that I really loved. And of course, there was Frozen. ❤ I’m still in love with it. And there’s another movie that I already have on my pc but not getting time to watch… hope I make it soon. It’s called ‘The Grave of the Fireflies’. It’s supposed to be very touching, so I’m really looking forward to watching it.. 🙂

6.) What is your favourite book series?

I’d probably be able to answer this question even in my sleep… Harry Potter, without a doubt! With that plot, those characters, the places like Hogwarts and Hogsmeade, and sooo many delicious treats 😀 … who wouldn’t fall in love with that world?

7.) What’s your least favourite book (feel free to rant)?

Do I even need to mention this? Twilight!

And I’m not even going to begin to rant because then I won’t be able to stop and my hands will hurt from typing and I still have to finish this post. So, I’m just gonna take the help of this fabulous pic, which portrays my feelings perfectly:

Twilightdictionary

Uh, I actually don’t hate Jacob that much. He’s probably the only character whom I could even come close to liking.

8.) Who’s your favourite actor? Actress?

Actor – Ian Somerhalder

MySpace And MTV Tower During Comic-Con 2010 - Day 3

God, that smirk… *dreamy-eyed*

Actress- Emma Watson

beautiful-emma-watson-photo-shoot-hd-wallpapers-lovely-desktop-widescreen-background-images

Isn’t she just gorgeous? ❤

9.) If you got to choose a superpower, what would it be?

I think I’d go for charmspeak. I’m not particularly fond of Aphrodite kids, but I think being able to charmspeak could really come in handy. Plus, me being the word-twister I am, I can only imagine what all I could do with charmspeak…

10.) If you were stranded alone on an island and could only bring one book with you to keep you company, what would it be?

If I was allowed a series, then I’d definitely take all the Harry Potter books. 😀 But if I’m only allowed a single book, then I’d have to choose something short, sweet and humorous that I’d want to read over and over again. Uhh.. Just One Wish by Janette Rallison, maybe?

My Questions:

1. What made you start blogging and what do you like the most about it?

2. If you were allowed to spend a day with any one fictional character, whom would you choose?

3. If you could change one thing about yourself, what would that be?

4. If you’re told that you can only have either music or books, what’d be your choice? Which book or song would you choose to have with you?

5. Top 5 book quotes?

6. Top 5 song lyrics?

7. While going for a book, what do you mainly base your choice on? The cover? Summary? Reviews? Ratings?

8. Ice-cream, chocolate or pizzas? 😀

9. Indoors or outdoors?

10. Violin or piano?

My Nominees:

abOOkishOwl: Her blog has such a lot of cool stuff, yet it’s so organised!

cl0udbusting: She and I… we’re so alike that sometimes I feel I could be related to her. Sorry if that creeps u out, Amy 😛

Umbreen: I love her blog! It’s filled with random interesting thoughts that are actually quite thought-provoking. And one of her recent posts… I’ll just leave u all to read it on your own 😀

Lunatic Wanderer: I swear, her blog has everything in it! From poems to random thoughts to book reviews – she has them all.

joysofbookworms: Another cool blog featuring book reviews and book hauls and book-tags and anything having to do with books.

swxtbooks: I looove your blog! Even if u didn’t have the ‘swxt’ part (which makes u pretty awesome 😀 ), I would’ve loved your blog just for the ‘books’ part, u know… 😉

If We Shadows Have Offended…: This blog is really awesome too. I particularly love the reviews and the book-tags! 😀

shriyabeesam: Ur blog is so… realistic? Sensible? Ugh, I’m not getting the perfect word! :/ But it’s reeeally cool and I simply had to tag u 😀

Erika: This blog, too, in spite of having such a lot of cool stuff, looks so very neat and organised! I love it!

Sripurna: Hers is the blog that motivated me to open my own… it’ll always remain my favourite ❤

aaannd that makes ten. Thank God. Because I had no one else to tag. 😛

(I know most of u have already been nominated… as the rules say, you’re free to reject the award if u want, but I’d really love it if u just answered my questions! So could u do that? Pleeease? And Sripurna and shriyabeesam, I know u both nominated me, but I’m just gonna take advantage of the rules and nominate u back! :D)

Phew! So I finally got this done! I’d been planning to do this since last week, but just not getting time… hope you all had as much fun reading it as I had writing it!

Bye bye!

20 thoughts on “Liebster Award

  1. Congrats and thank you for the nomination. 🙂 Some of my favorite authors include George Orwell and Agatha Christie, too. And I don’t blame you for having a difficult time choosing your favorite book character. There’s just simply one too many to pick from. Springtime is also my favorite season.

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s a lot of similarities! 😀 George Orwell and Agatha Christie are seriously awesome, yes. And I’m so glad u don’t mind my terrible habit of not being able to choose only one when I’m talking about books. You’re right, one to many to pick from 😛 And springtime… *gets lost in day-dreaming*

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Of all the things I could tell you after reading this (I’ll just tell you everything in school), I choose to tell THIS to you right now: Watch Grave Of The Fireflies ASAP.. Plzzzzzz *puppy dog face*

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jane Austen & Rick Riordan ❤ haha thank you so much for the nomination! ugh im sooo behind these things again haha ill get into it once i get all the answers to these questions of yours!

    P.S. yep, you're right I wasn't aware about this haha 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment