The Girl Who Lived…

Yep, that’s me, just less prettier and with boring brown eyes instead of those beautiful twinkling green ones.

Hi!!! *waves like a maniac*

Sooo… About two years since I was last online, I guess? Guess my, ahem, break… went on a bit longer than I expected. But hey, it wasn’t my fault, ok? Life was an ABSOLUTE asshole to me. Honestly, I nearly broke, and so many times. Kept falling down, got back up again, and now… I guess I can finally say I am somewhat back to stability (whatever that is). I won’t be posting as frequently as I used to before, because *drumroll* I’m in college!

BUT.

It’s the strictest college in my city, and I’m not even exaggerating. It’s got a reputation. Strict to the point of being prison-like. Sigh.

Whatever. Three years of torture and then I’ll be out.

Anywaaay, leaving that depressing topic aside, these two years have had its perks too. I’ve traveled a bit — Andaman, Benaras, Ladakh (tell me if you guys would wanna see pics, I can upload some). Also, I’ve read my fair share of books, which is always nice!

The Lunar Chronicles series, The Winner’s trilogy, the Shatter Me trilogy and lots of standalones too, including but not limited to Me Before You by Jojo Moyes, All The Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr, I Was Here by Gayle Forman and All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven, which top the list. I’ve also been reading a fair bit of Cecelia Ahern and FINALLY decided to try out some of Haruki Murakami’s works (fallen in love instantly. If any of you out there haven’t read his works yet, please do give him a try! You won’t regret it, I promise ❤️). Oh, and I just finished Crooked Kingdom (probably the last one in the blogosphere, I’d reckon? Coz I didn’t even know it had been published until a few days back, when I decided to check 🤦) and I’m HEARTBROKEN, just saying. I can’t even get properly started on A Court of  Wings and Ruin coz my heart hasn’t healed yet. Ugh. #thestrugglesofbeingabookworm

Moving on, I’ve been on a sort of movie-watching binge lately (college is closed for vacation at the moment so enjoying all I can before I’m held captive again 😭). In the past couple of weeks, I’ve watched La La Land, Moonlight, Becoming Jane, Me Before You, The Shallows, Shes Out of My League and Passengers, to name a few. With the exception of the last one, none of them have disappointed (thankfully). In fact the first four were absolute gold, and my advice to anyone who hasn’t watched them: please do! I’ve also been watching a lot of Bengali detective movies (Feluda and Byomkesh, if anyone’s interested) and rewatched some movie-gold favourites: Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, In Time, the Star Trek movies and some of my favourite Marvel movies. So yeah, awesome is the word.

Not willing to bore you further, but I’d be ashamed as a Bengali if I didn’t mention this. As I’m sure many of you know, Dussehra just passed us by. Here in Bengal where I live, it’s celebrated as Durga Puja, and it’s kind of a (VERY) big deal. Like a carnival of sorts, some would say. The entire city gets decked up in fabulous structures of art called pandals, which house idols of the Hindu deity Durga. Friends, food and hitting the road (in new clothes, of course) to watch these pandals (pandal-hopping, as we say)…. that’s Durga Puja in short. Nothing much, only it’s the biggest festival for the Bengalis.

So yeah. Belated happy Durga Puja to ya’ll. Stay happy, stay blessed.

-B ❤️

25 thoughts on “The Girl Who Lived…

  1. OMG BHRAMORI!!! I CAN’T BELIEVE YOU’RE BACK!!! I missed you. 🙂 I tried to email you a couple of times, but it wouldn’t go through. How are you??
    Do you remember me? My blog’s had a name change in the last year or so, haha. used to be Every Book You Need to Read and More @ abookwormsperfectapple.wordpress.com with my cousin Nikki? 🙂
    Anyhoo, in any case, that’s super exciting!! It sounds like you’ve been remarkably up to date. Don’t worry, I’m still on the first Grisha series. 🙂
    Alright, well I’m sure I’ve freaked you out enough, but welcome back!! So glad to have you! XD

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment