Top Ten Tuesday #1 : Ten Characters Who Are Fellow Book Nerds

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme by Broke and the Bookish, in which bloggers from all over the world come together to answer their weekly prompt. This week’s topic is — Ten Characters Who Are Fellow Book Nerds (love reading, are writers, work at a bookstore, etc.)

I love bookish book characters (and I’m sure most others readers do as well), so this is just the awesomest topic for me!

Hermione Granger (Harry Potter, JK Rowling) – Well, it’s obvious, isn’t it? This is the first name that comes to my mind when I think of bookish characters. I bet most of the lists today will be featuring her! πŸ˜‰

We love you, Hermione! πŸ˜€

Tessa Gray (The Infernal Devices, Cassandra Clare) Well, the reason that I loved Tessa right from the beginning was her immense love for her books. Every little thing had a bookish reference for her, and I loved that so much! ❀

Will Herondale (The Infernal Devices, Cassandra Clare) – What, did you seriously think I’d forget Will? No way! After I realised that he shared the love for reading with Tessa, I was honestly sooo happy! ^_^ Remember that scene in the library, where he came to talk to her about books? And that book he gifted her (and wrote that weird little poem in)? And every time he quoted a piece of poetry for her, my heart… just… sigh. ❀

I’ll just move on before I completely lose my ability to think properly…

Charlie (The Perks of Being a Wallflower, Stephen Chbosky) – He was autistic, yet he’d finished books likeΒ To Kill a Mockingbird, The Great Gatsby, The Catcher in the RyeΒ and Hamlet. And his teacher even gave him extra reading assignments! Seriously, how could I not include this guy in this list?

Aaand… because I can’t resist… πŸ˜‰

Don’t you just love that quote?

Scout Finch (To Kill A Mockingbird, Harper Lee) – Scout loved to read, everyone knows that. She wouldn’t have been half as sharp as she was if she didn’t read so much. Remember the trouble she got into with Miss Caroline? πŸ˜›

Jo March (Little Women, Louisa May Alcott) – She was probably my favourite little woman. I loved her love for writing. When Amy burnt up her manuscripts, I was so infuriated! 😑 I honestly thought I’d reach into the pages and give the girl a good piece of my mind.

Some-books-are-so-familiar

Matilda (Matilda (obviously), Roald Dahl) – I just love this character so much! I mean, which girl reads books like Great Expectations, Oliver Twist, Jane Eyre, Pride and Prejudice, The Old Man and the Sea, Animal Farm (and so many others that I can’t even remember right now), when she is only four years old?

tumblr_maaywcsC201rz2l7bo1_500

Elizabeth Bennet (Pride and Prejudice, Jane Austen) – It’s not for nothing that she’s considered the ideal heroine from Austen, is it? Obviously, there had to be a love for books involved… πŸ˜‰

Catherine Morland (Northanger Abbey, Jane Austen) – We all know her love for Gothic novels and her tendency to view literally everything through them. When she’s meeting and talking to people, she’s thinking of the fictional heroines; when she’s facing a situation, she’s thinking of the incidents in the books… she basically finds a reference to her novels every time she takes a breath.

And her assumptions about the Abbey… we all know what happened to them, don’t we? πŸ˜›

Roger Mifflin (The Haunted Bookshop, Christopher Morley) – I loved how he actually cared for his books so much, and how he cared for all books in general. At the end, when a part of his bookstore was destroyed, he was actually so upset about it (just like I was) and it was somehow comforting.

Honourable mentions: Belle from Beauty and the Beast, Hazel & Gus from The Fault In Our Stars, Fanny from Mansfield Park and Alaska from Looking for Alaska. Also, Heidi from (obviously) Heidi.


So that’s my list! Do we have something in common there? Did I miss out anyone? Do let me know by commenting! πŸ˜€

thecrazyperfectionist

27 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #1 : Ten Characters Who Are Fellow Book Nerds

  1. Oh my gosh I can’t believe I forgot to include Charlie!! And Scout, Jo and Catherine. *Shakes head* They all deserve to be on the list, or at least in honorable mentions! But I do have Hermione (obviously), Tessa & Will, Matilda and Elizabeth. πŸ™‚ Great list! ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wait, what? I’ve never seen Charlie as autistic… But I have him in my list too! As well as a couple of the others. And those Will Herondale quotations! And the one from Little Women. I also would’ve picked Hermione except I featured characters from only the books I’ve read, so there’s that. Wonderful selection!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, Charlie was never technically autistic in the book. But I have a friend who thought him to carry somewhat similar traits, and she kinda nailed that concept in my mind. πŸ˜› (FRIENDS ARE DANGEROUS CREATURES!) Besides, if you google it, you’ll find that lots of discussion’s already been done on the topic. πŸ™‚

      YOU MUST READ HARRY POTTER.

      Like

Leave a Reply

