The 2015 Popsugar Reading Challenge

I know this is pretty late, but better late than never, right? 😉 I’m not much into reading challenges because I feel like they interfere with my right to read whatever I want, whenever I want. But everyone I know seems to be doing some sort of challenge right now… it’s so tempting! 😛 And since this is the coolest reading challenge that I’ve found floating around, I decided to pick this one for a try! So here are the books that I’ve selected: (Since the challenge was actually supposed to start in January, I’ve decided to include books that I’ve read since then and consider that I read them for the challenge 😉 Of course, I’ll try to mention them as less as possible and focus more on my TBR..)

• A book with more than 500 pages

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

• A classic romance

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë

• A book that became a movie

I just read The Fault In Our Stars a couple of weeks ago.

• A book published this year

Hahaha. Yeah right. I’m not even going to choose something for this question because I know I won’t stick to it and go with a different one. Trust me, I like my things organised, but when it comes to reading, I just go with whatever seems interesting to me at the moment. The exact reason why I’m not that much into reading challenges…

• A book with a number in the title

Four by Veronica Roth

Nineteen Minutes by Jodi Picoult

Twenty Boy Summer by Sarah Ockler

• A book written by someone under 30

Venus Envy by Louise Bagshawe

I don’t even know why I want to read it. The summary is meh.

And look at the cover, it’s horrendous!

although the alternate one is really cute…

But I still don’t know why I want to read it…

• A book with non-human characters

Unearthly by Cynthia Hand

Angelfall (Penryn & the End of Days series) by Susan Ee

Seraphina by Rachel Hartman

• A funny book

The Law of Attraction by N. M. Silber

And I just can’t help but provide the summary here:

Once upon a time two lawyers fell in love across a courtroom …
Gabrielle Ginsberg was a public defender with plenty of nerve and Braden Pierce was an assistant district attorney with a whole lot of swagger. Gabrielle wanted Braden and Braden wanted Gabrielle.
And Cameron wanted Gabrielle.
And Marla wanted Braden.
And Cole wanted Gabrielle.
And Mrs. Mason wanted Braden.
And an anonymous letter writer wanted to keep Gabrielle and Braden apart.
Together Gabrielle and Braden discovered many important things, like which doors at the courthouse actually locked, and that desks could be useful for more than writing. They also found out that the path of love was not always smooth, and it was sometimes tread upon by some really wacky people, like a confused fanny grabber, an eighty-two year old pothead and a gentleman who threw a wine and cheese party in his pants. Could true love overcome a lack of privacy, interference by jealous rivals and the insanity of the criminal court system?

Yes, my dear friends, that’s the summary. I must say, I’m looking forward to this read! XD

• A book by a female author

Song of Solomon by Toni Morrison ❤

• A mystery or thriller

I just read Gone Girl last week… still in a state of shock… *shakes head to clear off the daze*

• A book with a one-word title

Carrie by Stephen King. (Actually, scratch that, I want to read everything by Stephen King that I haven’t read till now…)

And I read Beloved by Toni Morrison just two months ago… *shivers for the two thousand four hundred fifty sixth time*

• A book of short stories

The Bane Chronicles by Cassandra Clare, Maureen Johnson and Sarah Rees Brennan

• A book set in a different country

Read Anna and the French Kiss only a couple of weeks back… It made me fall in love with France even more ❤

• A non-fiction book

The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls

• A popular author’s first book

The Pickwick Papers by Charles Dickens

• A book from an author you love that you haven’t read yet

A Company of Swans by Eva Ibbotson ❤

• A book a friend recommended

Cinder (The Lunar Chronicles) by Marissa Meyer (thank you, abOOkishOwl!)

• A Pulitzer Prize-winning book

A Thousand Acres by Jane Smiley

(and I love her last name! 😀 )

• A book based on a true story

Hidden by Cathy Glass

• A book at the bottom of your to-read list

The Witch of Portobello by Paulo Coelho. Guess I’ll finally just give it a go..

• A book your mom loves

My mom isn’t really into English books, but I’ll be sure to read one of the many Bengali books that she loves.

• A book that scares you

Living Dead Girl by Elizabeth Scott. I just finished reading this book and let me tell you, I’m absolutely TERRIFIED right now. No, it’s not a horror/paranormal one. It’s a book that brings out the horrors of our own society, something that I personally find much more terrifying. As it is, I’ve been reading way too many mystery/thrillers and horrors lately, and after reading this…. well, I’m taking deep breaths even as I type.

• A book more than 100 years old

Emma by Jane Austen (It actually turns 200 years old this December… wow…)

• A book based entirely on its cover

I already mentioned this in my Courtship Book Tag

11709322

Changing My Wardrobe by Deb Hanrahan. I just finished reading it a couple of weeks back. It wasn’t too bad, really.

• A book you were supposed to read in school but didn’t

Nuh-uh, nothing like that for me. Every book that I was ever supposed to read in school has been thoroughly read by me.

But I guess I could do a re-reading of Macbeth, which was supposed to be in our syllabus but ended up not being there.

• A memoir

‘Seriously… I’m Kidding’ by Ellen DeGeneres

• A book you can finish in a day

Bridge to Terabithia by Katherine Paterson

Coraline by Neil Gaiman

• A book with antonyms in the title

Well, there’s obviously Living Dead Girl, but there’s also another book on my TBR list – The First Last Kiss by Ali Harris.

• A book set somewhere you’ve always wanted to visit

And Both Were Young by Madeleine L’Engle.

SWIT-ZER-LAND, my friends!!! ❤

• A book that came out the year you were born

Someone Like You by Sarah Dessen

• A book with bad reviews

Oh, but WHY??

*Off to Goodreads, looking for a book with bad reviews that I might actually like*

…back again!

Of Poseidon (The Syrena Legacy #1) by Anna Banks

I read the first 10-12 reviews on Goodreads and ALL OF THEM GAVE IT A 1 STAR RATING!! And they were so furious and irritated! 😛 There was only one 5 stars rating that I saw and another 3 stars. But at least the summary looks decent…

Maybe I might end up liking it? Fingers crossed!

• A trilogy

The Infernal Devices Trilogy by Cassandra Clare is on my TBR.

And right now I’ve just begun reading the Legend trilogy by Marie Lu..

• A book from your childhood

Okay… maybe a Famous Five…

No, wait, I got it!

113964-ml-97133

Roald Dahl, the king of my childhood book-kingdom! ❤ I guess I’ll just pick and choose from his books… in fact, knowing myself, I might just end up reading them all once again.. 😛

• A book set in the future

The Selection series by Kiera Cass

And of course there’s the Legend trilogy by Marie Lu that I’m reading right now…

• A book with a love triangle

Oh, so many of the books on my TBR are supposed to have love triangles! There’s The Selection by Kiera Cass, The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare, the Covenant series by Jennifer L. Armentrout…

• A book set in high school

Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

The Sea of Tranquility by Katja Millay

• A book with a colour in the title

My Heart and Other Black Holes by Jasmine Warga

• A book that made you cry

IMG_20150423_170003

It’s the only English book that’s ever made me cry (I can’t cry. And I mean it. There have been times when I literally wished I could, but the tears just don’t come. It’s sadder and more painful than you think, believe me…)

In fact, I don’t think even this book can manage to make me cry this time.

• A book with magic

Princess of the Midnight Ball by Jessica Day George

• A graphic novel

The Encyclopedia of Early Earth by Isabel Greenberg

• A book by an author you’ve never read before

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Don’t Look Back by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Slammed by Colleen Hoover (or maybe something else, I don’t know. I just want to try out her works…)

• A book you own but have never read

The Maze Runner by James Dashner

• A book that takes place in your home-town

That Frequent Visitor by K. Hari Kumar

• A book that was originally written in a different language

Perfume: The Story of a Murderer by Patrick Süskind (translated by John E. Woods)

I am SO excited to read this! Judging by the summary, I have a feeling it might turn out like The Picture of Dorian Grey… (yeeess!!)

• A book set during Christmas

The Gift by Cecelia Ahern (I really, really want to read this one)

A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens

Hercule Poirot’s Christmas by Agatha Christie

• A book written by an author with your same initials

My initials are B.D. and I don’t think I have anything on my TBR that’s written by someone with those initials. Sooo… I’m going to change it to D.B. and read Angels and Demons by Dan Brown 😛

• A play

Pygmalion by George Bernard Shaw. It’s one of my favourite plays and I’d love to give it a re-read!

• A banned book

This was hard! But I found out through google that Of Mice and Men by George Steinback was banned in many parts of the world, so I’ll go with it.

• A book based on or turned into a TV show

I’m currently reading The Mortal Instruments…

• A book you started but never finished

A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini


Sooo… that’s it! This might actually be fun, I think 😀 As always, I’d love to know what you guys think! Did I miss out any of your favourites that you’d like me to read? Do we have anything in common? Let me know by commenting! 🙂

thecrazyperfectionist

14 thoughts on “The 2015 Popsugar Reading Challenge

  1. They all sound awesome! (The ones that I’ve heard about at least) Two things: a) I loved Of Poseidon! (I’ve reviewed it but I’m too lazy to post a link – if you’re interested you can go to my Book Review Directory page) b) I had to study Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck this year for school and it was okay – it didn’t help that literally half of my book is only there because of the wonders of sticky tape. I’m not even joking).

    Liked by 1 person

  2. oh thanks for the mention and im glad to have recommended you a book 😀 yay to that! and i havent really read some of the books you mentioned and thanks for all these recommendations for categories i havent done with 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

