The Bookshelf Scavenger Book-Tag

And here’s presenting the Bookshelf Scavenger Book-Tag! *drumroll* I seriously had to do some scavenging work on this one, since I don’t have all that many real books in my shelves and all my earlier e-books are now gone, destroyed due to the re-formatting of my pc. *sob* Still, I loved doing this tag… it brought back so many book-memories (readers will know what I mean) and gave me a golden opportunity to resurrect bits and pieces of my earlier library. 🙂 Ok, on to the tag now..

1. Find an author’s name or title with the letter ‘Z’ in it. Suzanne Collins! Who can forget the woman who’s given us one of the best series of today?

2. Find a classic.

A classic? Like, only one? 😦

Guess I’ll just list my absolute favourite…

The Picture of Dorian Grey by Oscar Wilde. Need I say more?

3. Find a book with a key on its cover

incarceron_book_cover_01

Incarceron by Catherine Fisher. I still clearly remember how that eagle-carved key sitting in that ice-cold background had grabbed my attention right at once. The concept, too, was amazing. But the book itself could have been better. Don’t get me wrong, I really liked it, but the plot just had so much potential!

4. Find something on your bookshelf that’s not a book.

Uh.. I’ve got a little showpiece. It shows two children within a kind of sea-shell, with flowers on top.

5. Find the oldest book on your shelf.

I’ve given away most of my older books to my younger cousins, but I still have…

IMG_20150423_164653

…the Jungle Book by Rudyard Kipling! 😀 It still looks as new as if it was bought yesterday.

6. Find a book with a girl on the cover.

IMG_20150423_170003

Anne of Green Gables by L. M. Montgomery. This book… is my solace. That’s all I have to say about it. I’ve read it and read it and read it and read it, and now I think I have most parts memorised.

7. Find a book that has an animal on the cover

Animal Farm by George Orwell. I don’t think I’ve read any other book that has conveyed so much with such a simple, child-like plot. (Well, there’s another one, with an even more childish plot, but u’ll have to wait for no. 11 for that 😉 ) Anyone who hasn’t read this book, you’re missing out on one of the greatest literary works of all time. Go and read it, NOW.

8. Find a book with a male protagonist.

PaperTowns2009_6A

U say ‘books with male protagonists’, and I think about the Harry Potter and the Percy Jackson series (duh). But when speaking of single books, I think Q is my favourite male protagonist. He was independent but caring, something that I really loved. And he even decided to miss his grad, just to find Margo! That’s something I’d never have been able to do, had I been in his place. But even then, it was a pretty cute gesture on his part. 😛

9. Find a book with gold lettering

IMG_20150426_214118

Oliver Twist by Charles Dickens. This book, just like Anne of Green Gables, is very close to my heart. I know, some of u out there are probably horrified that I’m comparing something written by Charles Dickens to Anne of Green Gables. Yes, I know Charles Dickens is one of the authors… but honestly, I can’t help it. These two books are just too interconnected with my childhood…

10. Find a book with only words/letters on the cover.

Beloved by Toni Morrison. This book… I still get that twisted feeling in my gut whenever I think of it… You have to read it to understand.

11. Find a book with illustrations in it.

The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupery. Yes, it’s a children’s book, but then… it’s not really a children’s book, is it? 😉

12. Find a diary (true or fictional)

My personal diary always stays away from the bookshelf, in a place where nobody ever notices it (I know, I’m pretty smart 😉 ). But when I’m speaking about diaries…

…The Diary of Anne Frank just has to be mentioned, right?

Aaaand speaking of fictional diaries, there are a few more waiting to be mentioned..

The Diary of a Wimpy Kid series by Jeff Kinney! 😀 I’ve only read the first four, but they’re all on my ‘go-live-your-childhood’ bookshelves…

13. Find a book written by someone with a common name (for e.g. Smith)

IMG_20150426_214002

The Best of O. Henry (by, obviously, O. Henry 😛 )

14. Find a book that has a close-up of something on its cover

Immortal by Lauren Burd

Did u see that eye on the cover? ❤

(Don’t fall for it like I did, though… This book is basically Twilight and Vampire Diaries punched together into one, although the characters were much more well-developed and likeable here.)

15. Find a non-YA book

IMG_20150427_161335

The Ultimate Visual Dictionary! 😛 It’s kind of like an encyclopedia, except with a lot of detailed explanations and pictures. Absolutely nothing to do with YA! 😀

So that’s it! I tag Sripurna, to all the boys that exist in the fictional world, abOOkishOwl and shriyabeesam to do the tag (if you all haven’t done it already, that is). Anyone else who’s interested can do it too, just send me a link and next time I’ll be sure to tag u as well!

thecrazyperfectionist

6 thoughts on “The Bookshelf Scavenger Book-Tag

Leave a Reply

